

301 S. Bronough Street, Suite 300 ● Post Office Box 1757 ● Tallahassee, FL 32302-1757 (850) 222-9684 ● Fax: (850) 222-3806 ● Website: <u>www.flcities.com</u>

## City Officials from Across the State Honored with 2018 Home Rule Hero Awards

**CONTACT:** Scott Dudley **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:** 

sdudley@flcities.com / 850.222.9684

The Florida League of Cities recently recognized 89 city officials with 2018 Home Rule Hero Awards. These local government officials earned this prestigious award for their tireless efforts to advance the League's legislative agenda and help protect the Home Rule powers of Florida's cities during the 2018 legislative session.

"These dedicated municipal officials are some of the Florida League of Cities' biggest advocates for municipal issues," said Florida League of Cities President Gil Ziffer. "Their efforts during the 2018 legislative session were extraordinary. The League and its legislative team are proud to recognize and thank them for their service."

Home Rule is the ability for a city to address local problems through and by local decision makers with minimal state interference. The Home Rule Hero Award recipients are local government officials – both elected and nonelected – who consistently responded to the League's request to reach out to members of the legislature and help give a local perspective to an issue.

Mayor Judy Wertz-Strickland, City of Arcadia Vice Mayor Leo Longworth, City of Bartow **Commissioner Trish Pfeiffer**, City of Bartow Debra R. Buff, MMC, City Clerk, City of Belle Glade Council Member Scott Singer, City of Boca Raton Councilman Fred Forbes, City of Bonita Springs Mayor Robert Samuel Fite, City of Bowling Green John Titkanich, City Manager, City of Cocoa Commissioner Mike Miller, City of Cocoa Beach Mary Blasi, City Manager, City of Coconut Creek Mayor Greg Ross, City of Cooper City **Commissioner Dan Daley**, City of Coral Springs Commissioner Scott Black, City of Dade City Mayor Robert Apgar, City of DeLand Vice Mayor Heidi Herzberg, City of Deltona Councilmember Prebble Ramswell, City of Destin Commissioner Heather Gracy, City of Dunedin Mayor Walter Green, City of Dunnellon Bea Meeks, City of Edgewood Mayor Randall Henderson, City of Fort Myers Councilwoman Teresa Watkins Brown, City of Fort Myers

Mayor Linda Hudson, City of Fort Pierce
Michael Beedie, City Manager, City of Fort Walton
Beach

Councilmember Eddie Farris, City of Freeport Deric Feacher, City Manager, City of Haines City Mayor Matthew Surrency, City of Hawthorne Mark Ryan, City Manager, City of Indian Harbour Beach

**Councilmember Matt Schellenberg**, City of Jacksonville

Mayor Charlie Latham, City of Jacksonville Beach Commissioner Jo Ann Lucarelli, City of Lake Mary Mayor Eugene Fultz, City of Lake Waleokes Commissioner Phillip Walker, City of Lakeland Mayor Woody Brown, City of Largo Commissioner John Carroll, City of Largo Commissioner Jamie Robinson, City of Largo Cheryl Reed, Intergovernmental Relations Coordinator, City of Largo Mayor Dale McDonald, City of Maitland Mayor Kathy Meehan, City of Melbourne

Mayor Oliver Gilbert, City of Miami Gardens

Councilmember Cal Rolfson, City of Mount Dora Mayor Rob Marlowe, City of New Port Richey Commissioner Judy Reiker, City of New Smyrna Beach

Councilmember Bill Schaetzle, City of Niceville
Vice-Mayor Linda Yates, City of North Port
Mayor Tim Lonergan, City of Oakland Park
Mayor Kent Guinn, City of Ocala
Mayor Dowling Watford, City of Okeechobee
Councilmember Dan Saracki, City of Oldsmar
Mayor Bill Partington, City of Ormond Beach
Mayor Richard Musgrave, City of Parker
Mayor Christine Hunschofsky, City of Parkland
Mayor Frank Ortis, City of Pembroke Pines
Councilmember P.C. Wu, City of Pensacola
Lana Beck, Government Relations Administrator,
City of Pinellas Park

Councilwoman Jolien Caraballo, City of Port St. Lucie Mayor Rachel Keesling, City of Punta Gorda Vice Mayor Mick Denham, City of Sanibel Councilmember Holly Smith, City of Sanibel Commissioner Willie Shaw, City of Sarasota Courtney Barker, City Manager, City of Satellite Beach

**Councilman Dominick Montanaro**, City of Satellite Beach

Councilor Thomas Barnhorn, City of Seminole Mayor Leslie Waters, City of Seminole John Regan, City Manager, City of St. Augustine **Commissioner Nancy Sikes-Kline**, City of St. Augustine

**Commissioner Terri Finnerty**, City of St. Pete Beach **Wayne Tedder**, Assistant City Manager, City of Tallahassee

Commissioner Gil Ziffer, City of Tallahassee Commissioner Julie Fishman, City of Tamarac Council Member Cheri Donohue, City of Temple Terrace

Vice Mayor Bill Ribble, Village of Estero
Terry Atchley, City Manager, City of Wauchula
Mayor Daniel Stermer, City of Weston
Mayor Gary Resnick, City of Wilton Manors
Commissioner Carolyn Cooper, City of Winter Park
Mayor Steven Leary, City of Winter Park
Commissioner Pete Weldon, City of Winter Park
Mayor Jordan Leonard, Town of Bay Harbor Islands
Councilmember Isaac Salver, Town of Bay Harbor Islands

Commissioner Tom Shelly, Town of Belleair Deputy Mayor Stu Glass, Town of Indialantic Mayor Drinda Merritt, Town of Inglis Mayor Marlene Wagner, Town of Lake Hamilton Council President Ann Kagdis, Town of Ocean Breeze

Mayor Gail Coniglio, Town of Palm Beach
Mayor Carol McCormack, Town of Palm Shores
Commissioner Vinny Barile, Town of Sewall's Point
Mayor Gary Bruhn, Town of Windermere
Chevelle Nubin, Village Clerk, Village of Wellington

## ###

Founded in 1922, the Florida League of Cities is the united voice for Florida's municipal governments. Its goals are to promote local self-government and serve the needs of Florida's cities. Florida's cities are formed by their citizens and governed by their citizens. The League is founded on the belief that local self-government is the keystone of American democracy. For more information, visit <a href="www.floridaleagueofcities.com">www.floridaleagueofcities.com</a>.